As the internet becomes more popular, newspapers are becoming a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has been pointed out that the Internet is becoming increasingly prevalent, so newspapers are becoming history. Personally, I completely agree with this idea as staying updated by browsing websites has many more advantages in terms of individuals and environmental protection. First of all, using the Internet to stay informed is more convenient than buying papers. The reason is that individuals are able to search for the information that they are interested in from anywhere and at any time, without travelling to a physical bookstore. The saved time can be used to do other activities, such as work, study, or household chores, which contribute to comfort and ease in people's lives. For instance, a vast majority of housewives in their sixties mention that in the past, they had to go to a local newsstand to purchase papers every morning in order to get the latest global news. By contrast, since news websites, such as the Wall Street Journal, have become common, they no longer have to get up early to purchase a paper, which provides them with more time to sleep. Furthermore, getting the latest information online is beneficial to our environment. This is because printing newspapers involves several machines which consume a great deal of energy and emit exhaust into our atmosphere, thus damaging our environment. As an illustration, a massive number of newspaper publishers say that printing one edition requires several machines that are supplied by a huge amount of electricity. It is obvious that electricity is obtained by burning a considerable amount of fossil fuel, which causes an increase in carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gases in our environment, harming environmental conservation. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinions about whether newspapers are becoming outdated due to the increasing popularity of the Internet, while I am of the opinion that print media are disappearing gradually, since getting news online is more beneficial to every single person and environmental preservation.