Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A variety of hobbies, from physical to mental, and from individual to group hobbies, exist for people to spend their leisure time on, each with specific characteristics. It is believed that difficult hobbies are more interesting, however, I partly agree with this sentiment. In my opinion, the time, the mood and the venue of each hobby astoundingly affect whether it should be hard or easy. On the one hand, if we do hobbies as a remedy to relieve the strain and fatigue after a long workday, we probably prefer an easy one because we are out of energy to engage in a complicated puzzle or activity. For instance, playing chess with a professional or climbing rock on a weekday evening does not seem to be the best choice by the majority of people, while on a holiday it would be a fascinating challenge. Moreover, not everyone necessarily enjoys such activities on holidays or off-work days because other factors like the time of day and the location play key roles in selecting the preferred hobby. On the other hand, playing simple hobbies when we are energetic and have a lot of free time would often be frustrating. In this sense, we need to challenge either our body or mind in order to flash out the stockpiled energy in our muscles or our brain to become satisfied enough. As another example, most people do not enjoy playing XO games on a long weekend or when travelling. In such situations, it is favoured to perform intensive hobbies like swimming or playing card games which consume a high level of energy and as a result enjoy more. To sum up, although having difficult pastimes theoretically seem more satisfying, the circumstances strongly affect this feeling. I recommend considering the mentality, mood and favourites of each person to choose the difficulty of their hobby.