Psychologists have known for many years that colour can affect how people feel. For this reason, attention should be given to colour schemes when decorating places such as offices and hospitals. How true is this statement? How far does colour influence people’s health and capacity for work?

Neurobiologists and psychologists have demonstrated a significant relationship between distinct color schemes and a person's mood. Although the scientific bases for these phenomena are far from completely understood I believe it is paramount to dedicate decorations of work places according to current scientific evidence. Some people claim that interior design does not affect how we feel, moreover, any influence of colors on a person's mood can be perceived as pseudo-science or esoteric. Recent scientific evidence, however, clearly states that distinct color schemes can drastically influence our well-being which in turn has consequences on our stress levels and productivity. A good example of the positive impact of colors can be seen in children's hospitals. Here, pediatricians rarely wear white coats which make them look distant and inaccessible. Moreover, the positive impact on children's health of hospital clowns equipped with artful costumes and toys is evident. Art therapy is another example of the stimulating effects of colors on our well-being. Although it was widely discarded several decades ago, it is firmly established in any larger hospital to date. Additionally, there is broad scientific consensus that complementary therapies such as art therapy helps accelerate the healing process in a variety of oncological or psychiatric diseases and many more. In my opinion I find it evident that a majority of people appreciate colorful drawings in their offices rather than being exposed to monotonic grey walls. Museums and art galleries are designated public spaces that attract many people enjoying the view of paintings. The positive effect of colors on our psyche is substantiated by scientific evidence which shows that our brains tend to be more active when exposed to art. Overall, I believe that our current understanding of the brain speaks in favor of being more attentive to color schemes when it comes to decorating offices and hospitals.