Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer.

According to a number of people, it is believed that youth develop their creativity and other accomplishment by doing fun activities with their parents, rather than knowledge books. I strongly agree with this approach as infant learn their motor and cognitive dexterity only through play, especially when they are in pre-school age. Firstly, while primary school toddler could be inclined to read, younger children in preschool cannot not concentrate for a period of time as their attention span in immensely less when compared to that of adults. As a result, it would be nearly impossible for parents to inculcate the habit of reading. For example, as per a 2013 Cambridge University research, 90% of the juvenile in preschool age were interested in playing with colorful toys and shapes, rather than looking at the pictures in books. This clearly explains why adolescent are more eager to pretend and play, whereas less interested in spending time with the books. Secondly, play allows youngsters to mature emotionally, and gain self-confidence. There is no scientific research which suggests study at a young age is essential for a child’s development, moreover, evidence suggests the reverse is true. In Finland, early years’ education focuses on playing. Reading is only encouraged if a child shows and interest in developing this skill. This self-directed approach certainly does not result in Finnish school-leavers falling behind their foreign counterparts. In fact, Finland was ranked the sixth best in the world in terms of reading. In conclusion, despite being a supporter of the above mentioned non-reading approach, I strongly recommend incorporating bedtime stories into a child’s daily routine. However, lesson as a regular daytime activity should be swapped for something which allows the child to develop other skills.