Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed by some professionals that it is vital for children to learn a second language at primary school than secondary school. Despite learning another language at primary has some drawbacks, this essay argues that the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages. One of the drawbacks of teaching a new language at elementary school is that it will be hard for pupils to learn it and it will take time for them to absorb while they need to focus on studying their native language. For example, in my country, most of the children have to attend not only an English school but also in the local school to learn their native language. As a result, they might not be good at learning both languages at the same time. However, there are some benefits of learning other languages at an early age of students. Firstly, one of the benefits is that it can improve the fluency of that language and accurate accents to compare with others who did not start to learn from an earlier age. Moreover, children can know the cultures of foreign countries by learning foreign languages. For example, those students who studied the English language at elementary school can have enough English four skills and they are able to apply to other overseas universities in order to extend their studies. Thus, learning languages in advance is useful for children. To sum up, teaching new languages to pupils in elementary school has some negative effects but there are many positive effects and the advantages do outweigh the disadvantages.