Some people think that teenagers should follow what the old people say whereas some believe that it is good for teenage people to challenge what old people say. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

As species whose civilization is based on communication and sharing knowledge, it is only natural that the older generations want to share theirs with the younger ones. However, whether it would be beneficial to those individuals as well as society, or not, is of the debate. On the one hand, it is stated that older folk have faced many challenges and have learned many things during their journey while on the other hand, it is argued that experience is situational and in certain cases, they could be wrong. In my opinion, solving challenges first -hand is highly rewarding for teenagers and they should not satisfy with the advice of their parents. Firstly, people learn far better when they are confronting issues by themselves rather than just given the actual answers. Similarly, many schools have laboratories in order for the students to experiment rather than just be educated with the science concepts. As people undergo hardship, they would appreciate the lesson they've learned. Consequently, if they would face the same situation, they could easily respond whereas, if they just evade the situation simply because they were told to react a certain way, they probably wouldn't learn anything from it. Secondly, in many cases, people are wrong without knowing it. In other words, they could misinform others without any mal intentions. Therefore, just behaving according to their advice could not only cause harm to us, but also we wouldn't even learn anything from the process. For instance, my grandfather had always told me to go to work part-time, early as a student, on even low-wage jobs. In spite of his advice, I had made my own decision and have chosen the academic path wherein I'm finding myself very contented. Thus, in my opinion, even though we might have to pay the price with failure, making our own choices could lead to many successful endings. In conclusion, although older folk purely intend to help us, sometimes solving challenging problems and enduring their hardship in the process could be greatly beneficial and help us acquire different skills and in general, help us develop our characters. Personally, I believe the merits far outweigh the disadvantages in this case and we just need to encourage teenagers to be braver.