In some cultures, children are often told they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Teaching children that working hard is a must and to achieve their goals is not an uncommon habit in most societies. This essay will first discuss the value of hard work on the way to success as an advantage, and secondly outline the possibility of failure and disappointment despite the whole effort. One of the main advantages of encouraging youngsters to achieve their goals via doing their best is the factualness of this advice. Indeed, people doing their best have a much higher chance of success than those just waiting for good results to occur itself. On the other hand, improving our background by studying hard brings us some benefits such as self- discipline, self-confidence and wisdom, which might indirectly bring us success in the future. For instance, being a medical doctor was my dream job during the high school years and I studied for a year in order to be accepted for medical school. Finally, I was accepted to one of the best medical schools in my country. The major disadvantage associated with giving advice of trying their best will bring them success in anything is the possibility of failure. Since that world is not a machinery system programmed on mathematical algorithms, ending up with failure in spite of our efforts at some point of our life is inevitable. In the case of making the children believe too strictly that they can achieve any goal by trying their best might lead to disappointment at those failure moments. For example, depression and anxiety are more commonly seen in pupils who are taught to be always successful when they are hardworking. In conclusion, the idea of making an effort is a requirement for success has some benefits on youngsters’ personal development and success, whilst constructing a strict belief on this idea might result in some negative consequences, which might be regarded as a great disadvantage.