Human activity has had a negative impact on plants and animals around the world. Some people think that this cannot be changed, while others believe that actions can be taken to bring about the change. Discuss both and give your opinion.

Overpopulation has had devastating effects on this world, with many plants and animals feeling the brunt of this. However, some people argue that the situation can be reversed, whilst others claim that what is done is done, and now we need to learn from our mistakes. In this essay, we shall take into account both views. First and foremost, overpopulation has caused humans to encroach on land, which was once free to animals and plants. However, now as mankind takes up more and more area, animals and plants lose their natural habitats, resulting in many conflicts between animals and humans. Over the past decades, we have witnessed the results of such altercations, with many species getting wiped out. For example, the Tasmanian Tiger, which was hunted to extinction in the mid-nineties. Fast forward to the year 2021, as of 29th September, the United States has declared a total of 23 birds, fish, and other species to be extinct. Clearly, we individuals have not learned from our mistakes. In addition to this, the deforestation of the Amazon, which spreads over nine countries in South America, is being removed at a rapid rate, to meet the global demand for land, which many manufacturers require for allowing to establish their factories. On the other hand, many people believe that with the use of technology, we can definitely bring back what we lost. All we need is the DNA samples of these creatures' closest living relatives, and we can clone these animals and plants back to existence. However, this is morally wrong because if we create creatures in a laboratory, they will be immune to any disease, and therefore may cause problems for the existing populations of plants and animals. In conclusion, rather than worrying about what we lost, we must learn from the errors committed and ensure never to repeat them.