An increasing number of developing countries are expanding tourist industries. Why is the case? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that a growing number of developing countries are investing more in tourist industries. There could be several reasons for this, and I consider it to be a positive trend as long as it is carefully managed and regulated by the government. The main reason why governments invest in tourism is that the prosperity of tourist industries could contribute to economic growth. It creates jobs not only within the service industry but also in the associated sectors such as retail, transportation and accommodation. When these people spend their wages on goods and services, it leads to what is known as the multiplier effect, thereby creating more jobs. In addition, a booming tourism industry attracts foreign investments, which is especially vital for developing countries, and generates extra tax revenue, such as airport and hotel taxes, which can be later used in schools, hospitals and other public infrastructure. Furthermore, interchanges between the locals and the tourists create a better cultural understanding and can also help raise global awareness of issues such as poverty. In my view, the expansion of tourist industries in developing countries could be seen as a positive development. Apart from the economic progress, tourism could benefit a country in a variety of ways. From the social perspective, the improvements to infrastructure and leisure amenities that result from tourism could also benefit the local community. On the cultural level, Tourism encourages the preservation of traditional customs, handicrafts and festivals that could otherwise vanish. Nevertheless, it is undoubted that tourism also gives birth to some side effects such as pushing up the living costs of locals and exploiting the local natural resources. However, provided that the governments could manage the tourism expansion carefully and follow a sustainable route, those negative influences can be limited so as not to outweigh the financial benefits. In conclusion, the trend of tourist industries is due to the government’s pursuit of economic growth. I believe this to be a positive development as long as it is carried out in a sustainable manner.