History is one of the most important school subjects, other people think that in today's world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Throughout the past decades, the balance between subjects taught in school has changed. For many years, history was considered one of the most important courses. However, recently as we have witnessed a great advancement in technology, many activists and parents suggest that we should concentrate more on science. In my opinion, although the past could teach us many things, we should prioritize science as our very survival depends on it. To commence it, one of the vital issues humanity is facing is overpopulation which has led to a conundrum called global warming. As you may know, it is threatening the existence of the next generations. Unfortunately, we haven't advanced in areas that help prevent this phenomenon, such as energy preservation or clean energy production. Thus, it is of the utmost importance that we invest enough resources on this matter which not only the governmental funds but also the working and researching individuals. Accordingly, it is necessary to prepare the younger ones for this role. As a result, we should focus more on science to build the basis for this solution. On the other hand, history is of the crucial courses helping us to preserve our culture and traditions. As societies have emerged by technology, they have converged in respect to cultural behaviour due to globalization. Consequently, without any promotion of traditions, it is likely that they would fade away which is a reason for the dedication of history among important subjects in school. Moreover, not only it helps to keep historic cultures alive, but also it teaches us many lessons from the past. For example without the knowledge of the past, new generations wouldn't know about the tragic subsequences of wars and the decimation caused by them. Hence, by teaching students history, they could prevent the next world wars and unfortunate events. To summarize, even though history would help us save our traditions and teach us many social lessons, since dire dangers threaten our species' survival while currently, we haven't found the solutions for it, we should shift our focus towards them. Due to the mentioned concerns, personally, I believe schools should be more concentrated on science subjects.