Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workspace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course is useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a university?

Universities are a place for acquiring higher levels of education. Some people believe that these institutions should teach any content they wish, although others think that topics taught should have the determined skills needed in the workspace. I strongly agree with the last statement. Those who support giving access to knowledge for the university’s own sake argue that the university’s aim is to provide knowledge and not its relevancy in real life. These subjects might not necessarily entail information that is realistic to their workspace, but they are rather subjects that allow them to better understand various topics. For instance, medical schools teach their students every disease irrespective of its occurrence in their area. Therefore, they aim to provide as much as knowledge possible without bearing in mind its practical use in real life. On the contrary, others think that universities should prepare graduates with the skills required for their profession because it enables them to find their dream job in the competitive market. To put it another way, if pupils develop technical, nontechnical, communication, leadership, interpersonal expertise that the top-leading organizations require, they might be selected by MNCs, which provide handsome salaries and a good working environment. For this, graduates have to focus on their key expertise, which would assist them in getting placement in their respective fields. Thus, universities should teach pupils the skills required for their workspace. In conclusion, in my opinion, the university needs to prepare pupils to get ready for the real practice of what they have studied and how to succeed in a noticeably competitive job market these days.