Many crimes are related to the consumption of alcohol. Some people think the best way to reduce the crime rate is to ban alcohol. Do you think this is an effective measure against crime? What other solutions can you suggest?

Drinking too much alcohol increases the risk of injuries and violence. According to this fact, therefore, some people will argue that the high crime rate is closely tied to the consumption of alcohol, and the government should enact laws to ban people from drinking in order to decrease the crime rate. In my opinion, I disagree with this idea as I think the influence of this method on tackling crime is minor and it cannot effectively reduce the crime rate. Only by educating can really curb crime. First of all, a prohibition against alcohol cannot prevent crimes from happening. This is because most criminals are conscious when committing crimes. For example, appalling crimes such as abduction, killing, and bank robbery are usually carefully planned and are carried out by a group of people due to the fact that these criminals will not carry out such big events after getting drunk. While not allowing people to drink might avoid drunk driving, forbidding people to drink cannot really fight crime. On the other hand, education can indeed cut down the crime rate. According to the research concerned, during the past two decades, most of the crimes happened because these criminals were less educated and were more disrespectful to others’ property and rights compared to normal people. Thus, if people can more or less develop virtues such as compassion, kindness, and courtesy through education, the crime rate will decrease. In conclusion, it is not difficult to imagine that many recommend the government to announce a prohibition against alcohol to deal with crime, but this effort can merely bring some surface effects. The best way to address crime is through education.