Studies suggest that many teenagers these days prefer socialising online to meeting one another in person. Why do you think this is the case? What measures could be taken to encourage teenagers to spend more time meeting one another in person? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, where the internet has become a powerful commodity and inseparable from human life, there is an emerging condition in which young kids have more tendency to attach to their social media rather than physically interact with one another. In this essay, I will explore the background behind this phenomenon as well as the possible solutions to revert it. To begin with, socializing online brings ample merits to the more efficient day-to-day life of the youngsters. By that I mean, using a mobile phone to connect to each other can give more advantages to them, not only is it more convenient, it also provides no barrier of time and place in interacting with each other. In addition, having online-based interaction could give more variety of activities to do together rather than the face-to-face one. For example, by using Twitter, Instagram, or Facebook we can have a chat, play, or many types of fun interactions with our friends anywhere and anytime without worrying to spend more hours and effort going to a meeting place Thus, it is without a doubt, the young generation will choose social media over face-to-face socialization. In consequence, to detach kids from their aforementioned habits, there is a need for a bigger effort to make these young people go outside more and meet each other. Parents need to be more strict to limit their screen period, so that they will not spend their entire schedules on their phones. Moreover, older people need to facilitate these kids to play together and set examples of how it is important to have a real network and interaction for their future. For instance, parents need to show them that it is fun and valuable to meet real people by bringing them more often to have some activities at the park and having a playdate with their fellow friends. Therefore, they will feel more excitement in spending seconds outside, having interaction with another human being, as well as being keener to do the same in the future. In conclusion, the main reason which makes children love online networking and developing such habits is its efficiency. However, as the face-to-face ones are also important, parental control and guidance is the key to encourage them to meet one another in person.