In recent times, economic growth has helped many become richer, both in developed and developing countries. However, those in developed countries are not as happy as they were in the past. Why is this? What can be learned from this?

Recently, the growth of the global economy has led to an increase in the number of rich people, both in developed and developing countries. Nevertheless, their mental health is not as good as expected when compared with the past. A primary factor is a fact that wealthy people have so much pressure from their work that makes them less happy. To deal with this problem, work-life balance is what we obtain from this situation. Recently, many growing companies have done lots of work owing to the worldwide economic growth. In other words, increasing demands caused by the larger group of wealthy people, who can afford more products or services, result in increasing supplies. This leads to an increasing amount of work in most companies. Consequently, people who work in a company have had a lot of stress from their work. Their stress can reduce their happiness level which has negative effects on the overall happiness of the whole country. Furthermore, work-life balance is what we learn from this situation. To be happier, it is essential to schedule time for work and a family. The government can assist people to receive a healthy work-life balance by launching public policies which assign fewer workdays. This helps people spend more free time with their families or on relaxing activities such as doing their hobbies. As a result, personal happiness increases and it affects an increase in total happiness. The more efficient working process in companies is one of several benefits obtained from a good work-life balance. In conclusion, the recent growth of the global economy affects people ’s happiness in developed countries which do not seem to be as happy as in the past. However, what people learn from this situation is how to balance time for their work and life. It leads to the way the government manages the issue and plays a crucial role in the development of overall individual happiness.