Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that maintaining public libraries is pointless since they can be superseded by computer technology. While modern ways of obtaining knowledge do have some advantages, I believe that libraries still play a significant role in people's lives. On one hand, I agree that technology has fundamentally changed people's reading habits. These days, soft copies of books have gradually gained popularity and become the dominant version. This is because one can not only read them anywhere but also carry as many as he wants to, which is impossible in the case of hard copy. In addition, technological devices have enhanced the reading experience of users. Kindle, for an instance, is a gadget that has versatile features, such as screen brightness adjustment and night mode, catering to readers’ specific needs. Furthermore, the internet has granted people instant access to certain knowledge instead of going through books in the old fashion way. However, despite all these advantages modern technologies possess, I believe libraries are still crucial for both individuals and the community. Firstly, the sense of calmness and peace one receives in a library cannot be replaced by any high-end reading gear. There are many people who not only enjoy reading hard copy books but the tranquillity of the library as well. For example, many students like to study in a library far from city hustle and bustle. Moreover, not everyone can easily afford a personal computer or other reading gadgets. On this account, such public services benefit them by providing books and internet access. Last but not least, many municipal libraries are historic monuments; they are the display of culture and history and they witness the transition of people ’s lives. In conclusion, though I agree that computer technology has functions that could replace public libraries, I also believe that It is imperative to keep and support public libraries in every community, since they are more than just buildings full of books.