Some people think that increasing communication usage of computers and mobile phones by young people has had a negative effect on their reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

With technological advancement, the world is moving towards digitalization. Few citizens see this as degradation in social and physical interaction whereas, many believe it as growth. I opine that the balanced use of these gadgets has more benefits. In this era of digitalization, firstly, gadgets are becoming popular especially among the youth which has obvious advantages like the convenience of reading from anywhere and anytime. Secondly, it makes communication and purchases easier and faster via e-mails, text messages, WhatsApp, telegram and Amazon. Moreover, usage of social media like Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn bring loved ones and friends together from anywhere in the world. Furthermore, education and assignments are easier to submit online and helps to reduce carbon footprints and chopping down trees. Nevertheless, books, magazines and digital subscriptions can bring the collections of books from all over the world to your doorstep. We should not forget that men are social animals. Communication via computers and mobile phones bring disadvantages like avoiding social interaction and meeting in person. Many times, it is very difficult to understand the essence of the contents and emotions of the message electronically. Youths also get bored, tired of using pens, pencils and reading books in the library. Due to excessive use of electronic equipment, youths tend to sit in one place for longer periods and can cause many health-related issues like obesity and vision. To summarize, usage of computers and mobile phones can be a boon if balanced and thoughtfulness is observed. Also, education, awareness and training will make youth sensible and observant.