Living in a country where you have to speak foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

When we go to a different countries to reside or work, where there is different dialect, social structure and culture. We tend to face all kind of difficulties including cultural and survival. When we go to different countries to reside or work, where there is a different dialect, social structure and culture. We tend to face all kinds of difficulties including cultural and survival. I agree with the statement that residing in any foreign land without the proper understanding can be a challenging task for any individual. Native spoken vernacular is the basic tool that helps the person to connect with the locals, their methods, traditions and it can make or break the deal for the foreigner. Learning and speaking a new language is a challenging task, but at the same time, it makes the work easy for any foreigner, who is trying to settle in the new home, which is very different from his own native. If the person is not accustomed to the culture, language and environment and he can feel alienated and would not be able to work or make a social circle. The language barrier can prevent you to survive in a new country as one would need to communicate in the speech which locals understand, to deal with them for food, shelter, work and travel. There is a proverb that says “In Rome, do as Roman do” but to live like a Roman, the foreigner needs to have a basic understanding of the local custom and culture. What is acceptable in one country wouldn’t be welcoming in another country. For example - a guest needs to burp after the food to show appreciation in Arab countries,, however the same would be considered as rude in British culture. To understand these basic and small differences, one needs to have a good understanding of the local dialect which can help in saving the grace. In Conclusion, language, culture and social environment are closely netted with each other and if we don’t have the key to its puzzle, we would not able to sustain in such an environment.