More and more people are relying on the private car as their major means of transportation. Describe some of the problems over-reliance on cars can cause, and suggest at least one possible solution. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience

Despite much investment in public transportation, people still prefer to possess their own vehicles, especially cars, when they commute to work or on holidays. This might seems to provide them more convenience, however, there are also many problems accompanying the usage of cars. Some of the problems will be discussed below together with suggestions for alternatives. Firstly, car usage has reportedly caused a huge amount of exhaust and therefore, negatively affect the environment and quality of life. As a matter of fact, environmentalists have been raising much concern over the use of fuel for personal transportation, which has released excessive amount of carbon dioxide into the air. As a result, the recent quality of air in crowded cities has almost always on the alert level. This leads to detrimental repercussions on residentials' health and also on the habitat. Secondly, the increased figure in car sales and usage also goes along with the rising number of car accidents due to unconscious driving or rushing behaviours. For instance, one of the prominent reasons for people to choose cars among other types of transportation is the ability to choose when and how fast to drive to their destinations. At some points when they are in a hurry to work, they would probably choose cars instead of running to the train station and spare some more minutes waiting with the risk of train delay. In that case, they will more likely use their own cars and speed up, risking crashing their vehicles with others'. In other situations, people might choose cars so it is more suitable to drive home late after a party as trains have its schedule limit. Therefore, they might possibly not be in a unconscious state of mind when driving, leading to high chances of accidents. For the reasons above, I personally believe public transportation is preferable for the safety of everyone on the streets. So as to make it more convenient, governments and train stations managers can consider increasing the number of trains and schedule. For example, last weekend trains might be till 1am so party people or those who are on late-night shifts will be able to take. Another suggestion would be researching and expanding train routes so it reaches more areas and customers. More public transports users will also decrease the amount of emissions on cars. In conclusion, although cars might be very convenient at times, excessive reliance on this type of transports brings about many problems for the environment and for the safety of drivers. Investment into public transportation would be a possible solution to help ease this matter.