Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Other, however, believe that school is the place to learn this. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views as to whether children should be taught an acceptable code of conduct by parents rather than teachers. Despite the fact that teachers should be partially responsible for this, I believe that parents can play more a more important role in how good their children could be. On the one hand, parents have the opportunity to instil a sense of morality in the youth at a very young age because children spend most of their time at home with their parents. Parents are not only the closest individuals to them but also the most influential in their lives. In other words, children tend to believe whatever their parents tell them; therefore, if parents act as good role models for them and show them the value of morality, children are likely to have high moral standards in the future. For example, a study conducted in Thailand in 2000 showed that the majority of children learn most about righteousness from parents. This lead to the beginning of children learning to be a good population of society. On the other hand, school is also the best place for children to be guided and instructed about rights and wrongs. It is clear that giving education about morality is one of the teacher's main duties as well, apart from teaching academic subjects. Teachers are among the most suitable people to undertake this responsibility because they know the best and the most effective methods to cultivate good citizenship in young people. In addition, schoolchildren could be taught in a group so that they will be able to develop a sense of rightness along with their friends. In conclusion, although teachers have some responsibilities in teaching students to have good manners, I believe that family has the biggest influence on the children.