In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Undoubtedly, there has been a noticeable surge of people relocating to urban areas around the globe because of better lifestyles, healthcare facilities, education and job opportunities. This leads to a significant decrease in the rural population and a dramatic increase in the urban population. I think there are many key benefits and some drawbacks of this movement. This essay will examine both aspects in detail. Cities offer better infrastructure and medical facilities to the people as compared to rural areas. Therefore, people relocate to the big cities to live a healthy and comfortable lifestyle. In addition to this, cities provide advanced educational facilities and good job prospects encouraging people to migrate for better education which opens up new opportunities for them. For instance, a recent survey from the University of Ottawa revealed that in the last 3 years, there has been a significant increase, especially in the younger population in urban cities from rural areas who moved in search of education and job opportunities. Conversely, there are a few drawbacks that cannot be ignored. The migration of people to large cities is putting a lot of pressure on the housing needs which results in increased house rents and environmental pollution. Thus, it has become tedious for people to afford to live in urban areas. Furthermore, the government is allocating more budget for the cities as compared to countryside areas, hence rural areas remain undeveloped. For example, a study by the University of Montreal has revealed that the city's climate drastically deteriorated because of increased waste and pollution caused by the growing population in the last 5 years. In Conclusion, I think the shifting of people to cities is advantageous, however, the government should come forward and devise strategies to equally develop the countryside as well in terms of education and health facilities to curb this situation. This will enable both the cities and small towns to meet the basic requirements of the citizens and maintain equilibrium. In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?