Around the world, many adults are working from home, and more children are beginning to study from home because technology has become cheaper and more accessible. Do you think this is a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There have been great leaps in the development of technology in recent years which has enabled both adults and children to work and study from home respectively. This is a positive development in my opinion due to the reasons that I will elaborate on in this essay. Nowadays, more and more people are beginning to work from home. Being physically present at the workplace is no more a requirement to be a part of a wide variety of companies or businesses. This trend has become even more pronounced after the COVID19 pandemic took place. What started as a work-from- home policy due to lockdown regulations has now become a permanent position for many people globally due to its numerous advantages. Workers are now more efficient as the time spent on their daily commute is now used for more productive tasks. On a larger scale, the pollution levels are also going down because of the lack of people using public or private transport to get to their workplaces. Additionally, working from home is beneficial for parents who have young children at home. This means they are able to keep an eye on their children and work at the same time and consequently save the money they would have spent on expensive creches or babysitters. Attending school from home for children has its benefits too. Kids can now go to school from the comfort of their homes. From my experience, the classes that children attend online have a fewer number of children in each class as compared to their physical classrooms which helps provide individual attention for each student. In addition to this, their studies can now be supervised closely by their parents which might not have been the case otherwise. Parents can also be more involved in their children's lives. In conclusion, I feel that working or studying from home is a positive development overall and that it brings families closer together. It provides flexibility in the workplace and at school.