In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views as to whether the public funds ought to be used in building new railway tracks for high-speed trains between cities. Despite the fact that there are benefits of better public transport, I believe that governments should bank on high-speed tracks. To begin, it is argued that the governments should invest in improving the quality of current public transportation because less money is used in order to subsidise other sectors, such as healthcare or education. Thereby, people will have a higher standard of living. In addition, modernized and efficient public transportation can encourage more individuals to use it more often and discourage them from driving their own cars. This can alleviate the deteriorating traffic congestion, which is on the rise in many cities. For example, in Bangkok, it is reported that after Skytrain improvements, the number of Skytrain users increased dramatically, especially during the rush hours, and the number of cars on roads were reduced. On the other hand, there are two main reasons why high-speed tracks should be built. Travelling by high-speed railways can help commuters save an enormous amount of time. The high-speed trains provide travellers with reliable schedules and reduced travelling hours compared to other types of public transport. Consequently, commuters can travel more efficiently. Moreover, commuting by fast train is safer than travelling by road. For instance, while driving cars, drivers could lose their concentration from many distractions, such as mobile phones, resulting in car accidents. In contrast, train passengers can use mobile phones without the concern of safety because they are not the drivers. In conclusion, new lines may give some people the opportunity to save a lot of time and the substantial thing, their time can be allocated to take care some of their businesses, which what they want, whereas fixing the existing transportations can not fully supporting our new modern life. Hence, I would argue that we should embrace the idea of the construction of new railway lines for the high-speed trains rather than improving the quality of current public transport.