Maintaining public libraries is a waste of time since computer technology is now replacing their function. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Technology is growing at an exponential pace and many old methods are now being taken over by computers. There are various heated debates happening over the topic, “which institutions should be replaced with innovations”, and one of them is whether maintaining public libraries nowadays is a waste of time. I think that libraries still has a role in society, and they should not be shut down any time soon. Firstly, libraries offer facilities that computers are not providing, for instance, even today for many individuals library is a place where they can detach from the distractions of the society and technology to focus on the work at hand. Secondly, library is an important part of history that should be maintained for future generations to see, to illustrate, in the modern world of short contents and flashy advertisements, library is a reminder about the importance of reading and quiet- time. Therefore, library should be maintained not for the amount of books it have but for the environment it provides. However, there are many proponents to the arguement that maintaining a public library is a waste of time, since all of the knowledge base in the library can be now stored in a memory card, furthermore, data about any topic can be accessed much easily through the internet. For example, the amount of books in a library about biotechnology might be limited and sometimes even outdated, on the other hand, one can easily get the most recently available knowledge about biotechnology if he/she surf the internet. In conclusion, with advent of technology and inovations, the existance of libraries became questionable. However in my opinon, although there are databases which are much wider and easily accessible than the library, that doesnot doesn't really provide a reason for libraries to become irrelevant. Libraries should be maintained for the facility it still provides, as well as a reminder about the importance of reading and quiet- time. Thus, in my opinoin maintaining libraries is not a complete waste of time.