Global environmental issues are the responsibility of richer nations, not poorer ones. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Global environmental problems are something that every living being is having to deal with, both in the developing and developed world. Some sections of society, argue that the developed nations are at fault whilst others believe that the poorer developing nations are also at fault. However, I believe that both the rich and poor countries are both responsible, as they both contribute to this problem, all be it in different capacities. First and foremost, the majority of the factories are operating in the more developed nations. In addition to this, most vehicles ownership is by people in developed countries, because of their strong purchasing power. Therefore with the major contributors to environmental pollution being in the richer countries, people feel that they are solely responsible for this environmental dilemma. However, although they contribute to a large portion of the problem, they possess the tools to remedy the predicament, whereas poorer countries do not. Poorer nations, on the other hand, do not have this luxury, because they are trying to play catch up with the economies of the wealthier nations. The crisis that poorer nations face, is that they do indeed need help via investment from the west. An example to illustrate this, is the deforestation in the Amazon, for the clearing of more area for American companies to set up their offices to establish their presence in the South American Continent. These effects can also be seen in Africa, as many countries are mining their natural resources and shipping them to the richer nations, in return for investment. Furthermore, as they don't have the luxury of switching to renewable sources of energy, mainly due to the cost involved, they need to stick to their current means, which is the burning of fossil fuels. To conclude, the bottom line is that both the developing and developed nations are responsible for the current global environmental crisis, all be it in different capacities and therefore they need to individually deal with their respective nations ' contributions.