In most countries, fast food is becoming cheaper and more available.  Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, the fast food industry is developing in many countries in the world. Fast food seems to have become a favorite food of many people and especially young children. This essay will discuss two sides of junk food consumption. However, to my way of thinking, it is undeniable that its drawbacks outweigh its advantages. On the one hand, fast food is one of the choices of diet for many people. To begin with, junk food is prepared and served quickly. Undoubtedly, many busy people don’t have time to take care of their meals. As a result, many restaurants have fast food ready to serve every time and anywhere. Secondly, it is true that fast food is more affordable than cooked-meals. To illustrate, a hamburger costs three dollars while food to create a family meal that costs at least 10 dollars. For this reason, processed food saves people's pocket money. On the other hand, despite the positives mentioned, I would argue that these drawbacks outweigh the benefits. Firstly, one of the major negative effects is the harmful long-term impact on health. Indeed, fast food is less healthy than home-cooked meals because it is high in saturated fats and added sugars. Therefore, this consumption is to blame for many diseases such as heart attack, increasing blood pressure, etc. Moreover, due to calories and processed preservatives in fast food, people are at risk of obesity, especially childhood obesity. Secondly, one thing people worry about is food poisoning. To paraphrase, fast food chains don’t vouch for food safety. So, it is easy to have a digestive disease due to food additives. In conclusion, although junk food helps people to save money and time by cooking meals, its negative effects on health are undeniable. It seems to me that people should control their eating behaviour to protect their health.