Many small business are being forced to close because they are unable compete with multinational corporation? what problems does this cause and how can problems be solved?

Globalization has affected many small businesses native to the country. Opening up of economies to multi-national companies (MNCs) forced many medium and small businesses to shut down their operations, because they were unable to survive the competition from the MNCs. Small businesses are also essential contributors to a nation’s economy, therefore, supporting them is important. When small businesses of a country are closed down, it will affect the government as well as the citizens. For example, when small-scale manufacutrers shut down, the consumer is offered with limited choices that are only from the big companies and, as a result, they will be forced to buy products at the price fixed by these mult -national manufacturers. In other words, the big company becomes a monopoly in the market. Government is also affected since the products which where earlier made in the country, had to be now imported, in turn reducing the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) of the country. Therefore, it is important to regulate the influence that the international players have in our commercial markets. There are various initiatives that can be implemented to protect micro-industries from the exposure towards international industries. Firstly, government must regulate the amount of products that the big companies can import, namely, through import duties and additional taxes. Secondly, subsidies can be provided to native manufacturers, for example the subsidies to ‘MSMEs’ provided by the Indian government to support businesses in the post pandemic world. Third, will be to enlighten consumers about the importance of buying native products, through campaigns like “Vocal for local” and “Make in India”. These steps would support micro-industries to compete against international players. In summary, local manufacturers are being forced to shut down due to the stiff competition from the multi-national products which started penetrating the market with the advent of globalization. The closure of local industries will impact a nation’s economy, so, there are various initiatives, that should be implemented to find a solution to this crisis.