The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population. This is causing problems not only for the poor in undeveloped countries but also for industrialized and developing nations. Describe some of the problems that overpopulation causes, and suggest at least one possible solution.

Overpopulation, a rapid increase in population in a small period of time, has always been considered to be a major issue in every nations, from the poor and underdeveloped nations to the rich and developing countries. Most nations regard overpopulation immediately as a crisis when it appears due to the nature of its impacts on social life and living quality. Conversely, governments and officials can take measures to minimize the detrimental effects of overpopulation and to take advantage of such phenomenon. This essay aims to discuss a portion of the problems caused by a boom in population and to provide plausible solutions to the issues. Overpopulation can significantly affect the city's infrastructure and therefore affecting people's life. Firstly, to start off, the rise in population correlates with the rise in demand for resources and services, which may overwhelm the city's previously-built infrastructure. A boom in urban population can lead to the failure of basic systems such as power grids and water pipes to provide resources to the people, which will reduce the essential portion of life qualities such as hygiene and heating. One example of such is in today modern China, where the population is over 1.5 billion people. Due to the lack of high quality coal for energy production, the government has to permit a power quota, limiting the amount of power businesses and people can use. Consequently, people's life are worsened, as there is no electricity to run heater in the coldest winter recorded in China. Moreover, services' availability are significantly reduced due to a larger demographic. As children go through their childhood, they require basic education, healthcare, and parental protection to grow. Consequently, a large number of youngsters put a strain on the education, medical systems and the economy. Conversely, governments can minimize the impacts of overpopulation through measures such as family planning and improve women's knowledge and accessibility about and to birth control. Firstly, to start off, by planning the number of children a couple can have, governments and law makers can decrease the annual number of child birth. For illustration, in Vietnam, couples are advised to have about 2 youngsters, which has drastically reduce the impacts of overpopulation. Furthermore, by improving access to birth control means to women, the severity of overpopulation will be curbed. One example is in India, where women is encouraged to have rudimentary knowledge about health. Consequently, women can make the choice of whether to have a child or not, which will limit the number of children being born into poverty. In conclusion, overpopulations not only harm people and businesses through inadequate resources and strains put on public services, and governments can reduce the impacts of such phenomenon by introducing family planning and increasing women's accessibility to health knowledge. However, the issue rich, industrialized nations are facing is not overpopulation, but rather the lack of it. Personally, I believe that a decreasing population is the result of having too many good things, and should be considered to be as severe as overpopulation.