Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, we live in a globalised world where countries can import food from other countries. Supermarkets have an advantage with this because the number of items they can offer is bigger. This advantage has some problems, because they will not buy food from local shops and the footprint is bigger. Firstly, food that has to travel around all the world to end on a shelve from a home, have a huge footprint. This means that when people buy bananas from Ecuador, this fruit has travelled thousands of miles in a boat that consume fuel and produce contaminating gases. Secondly, the main reason for supermarkets to shell food from overseas is because the price is much cheaper than buying it locally. It is normal that if they can buy some type of fruit for half of the price they will. This is not only because shops, consumers also have their responsibility because their choice usually is the cheapest option. On the other hand, the reason why supermarkets bring imported food is because maybe in that country is out of season or it does not grow in that area. So, the only way to offer some kind of foods that if they were not imported they would not be available.  In conclusion, even though there are some cons against bringing groceries from other parts of the world sometimes is the only way to have access to them and at a fair price. This is kind of convenient when you like some food and you want to eat this at home.