Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology is now replacing their functions. Do you agree?

The technological revolution has been on a dramatic rise since the introduction of the internet. Innovations in the field of tech have had an impact on every kind of activities from automation to reading books. The majority of the population is of the opinion that a shift to online medium is inevitable thus, public libraries should follow the same rather than investing taxpayers earnings in maintaining themselves. It is agreed that the digital world is indispensable and the best solution to survive would be to follow the trend. Firstly, reading books in the library has somewhat become obsolete. In other words, after the introduction of the internet, people across the globe are able to connect with each other in a matter of seconds. It is of paramount importance to note that with further development of innovations the concepts of scanning and cloud storage was introduced. Consequently, citizens started to use cameras to upload scanned copies of books and magazines which were stored on the cloud memory, that is to say, were shared with the world without the need for physical presence. Furthermore, with a paradigm shift towards cloud computing and online access, book publishers introduced the concept of E- books. For instance, Amazon an e-commerce platform brought Kindle an e-book reader that replaced the need for a physical books. Secondly, cloud computing has made access to files much easier. One major drawback of reading centres was that they were accessible between a certain time period only. In furtherance, it was nearly impossible to always find the resource that was needed due to limited storage in the library. These two issues were dealt with and solved by computers. For instance, Google Drive an initiative of Google a technology company provided its users with 15 gigabytes of online storage likewise, an initiative by the United Nations aimed to provide unlimited access to magazines and literature from diverse fields via computers to the whole world. To sum up, the world of the internet and the physical world has to coexists. Focusing on the varied biblical resources. It is apposite to mention that it is generally prefered to be done from any part of the world thus the governments should not waste money on public libraries.