Some people think that it is more beneficial to take part in sports which are played in teams, like football. But others think taking part in individual sports is better, like swimming. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Sports are broadly classified into athletics and games, out of which games are usually team events and athletics are mainly individual events. Whether a person’s interest is towards team event or individual event is purely subjective, however, some people aruge that team games like football or cricket is more beneficial to take part in, compared to, individual events like swimming or wrestling. On the other hand, another group thinks that the latter is more beneficial than the former. Let us discuss deep into each of the arugements before we arrive at a conclusion. Proponents of the arguement that team sport is beneficial than single sport put forward the following points to substantiate their arguement. Taking part in a team sport can improve a person’s soft skills like empathy and teamwork, as a result, improves his/her character. For example, in a team game like football, players often care for their teammates since that is important for the team ’s success. Although their are advantages, sometimes players get dragged into team politics which indeed stall their growth, and decreases their morale. To illustrate, take the example of Formula 1 which is one such sport where teammates are the greatest rivals. People who believe solo game is beneficial than team sport lays down the following points. Firstly, individual sport provides a great sense of self-esteem, therefore great satisfaction during success. For instance, in events like swimming, all the effort is put in by the individual which gives him/her full ownership of success. Secondly, high physical effort is often required for an individual sport, which motivates the player to be fit. In contrast with team events, individual sports requires greater amount of persistance since there is no support from peers, thus there are chances that players might give up. In summary, whether team game or individual game is more beneficial is a complicated topic for discussion. Both sides have their pros and cons, furthermore it is hard to arrive at a decision stating one is better than the other, but I think that the pleasure that team sport provides slightly outweigh the pleasure from an individual event, thus I think team sport is more beneficial that individual sport.