In education and employment, some people work harder than others. Why do some people work harder? Is it always a good thing to work hard?

Undoubtedly, hard work is a key to success due to which, some people contribute with greater efforts in their studies and work in comparison to others. In my opinion, continuous workload whether it is for educational or job purposes will have detrimental effects which will be justified in the following paragraphs along with the reasons of such dedication. There are several reasons of working harder. First and foremost, it helps people to achieve their goals. In this competitive world, working harder enables an individual to earn more money and provides wider career opportunities including promotional rewards and higher wages than others. As a result, people can enjoy higher social status and luxurious lifestyle. For example, Indian government recognizes NREGA laborers who owner hard- work by an additional financial support in order to improve their living standards. Secondly, it leads to self development. A person has to face various challenges make them to overcome the difficulties and excel in a particular area of their interest by making them diligent towards their passion. However, extensive work can lead to physical or metabolic disorders. If people are over-indulged into their work or study, they would avoid having proper diet. Consequently it may cause serious illness like hypertension and diabetes. For instance, a friend of mine had suffered through chronic low blood pressure as he started skipping his dinner due to working overtime. Moreover, overwork disturbs the social relationships. It does not allow people to spend their quality time with their family or to attend any social gatherings. Continuous work burden without having any break which can possibly lead to acute stress syndrome. It is evident that the couples who work longer hours tend to have lack of attention towards each other which creates several misunderstandings. Acquiring recognition, success and growth are contributing factors which encourage people to be devoted. Working without limit negatively impacts an individual’s health along with the personal and social life.