An increasing number of people are now using the internet to meet new people and socialise. Some people think this has brought people closer together while others think people are becoming more isolated. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Socialisation has been a debatable topic even before the pandemic hit. The use of various social media applications to interact with strangers have been increasing tremendously among the public.Some populations believe that the internet unites them together while others do not. This essay will discuss both perspectives of, how the internet can bring society together and also isolate a person from society. To embark on the unity formed over the internet, it is quite a fact that during pandemic the only source of communication was the internet. It helped provide support to them through thick and thin even though without their physical presence. A person who was apart from their family, could video call and see them virtually. This way the pandemic made us realise the value of internet communication. Along with this, communicating through social media has helped a lot of introverts to come out of their bubble. Introverts feel more freedom to talk,over online conversation rather than face-to-face. It helps them interact and let their fear vanish with the use of online communication skill. On the flip of the coin, people tend to isolate themselves with the help of the internet. People who meet to hang out are too indulged in communicating with a person who is not present physically. This way they themselves are isolated from the crowd who are physically present to socialise. Therefore internet has a bad effect on their relationship with the community. To conclude, I believe that the internet is undoubtfully a cherry on top for the society of this generation. All we need to learn is how to use it wisely for socialising with the community. We need to have balance among the priorities of people we communicate be it physically or virtually. This way we can utilise what is provided with full potential.