There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students through exams rather than continual assessments. Discuss advantages and disadvantages of final exams.

Education plays a pivotal role in the development of children. Nowadays it has becomes a debatable topic, whether to evaluate youngsters knowledge on the basis of periodic exams or on the basis of regular assessment. This essay intends to discuss both the pros and cons of this trend in subsequent paragraphs. On the one hand, there are many benefits associated with the trend of judging the capabilities of school goers by taking exams once a year. Firstly, this system gives an opportunity to pupils to get enough time to understand and learn the subject thoroughly. Due to this, they can perform excellently in exams and will also get admission to a leading universities like AIIMS.A recent survey conducted by Oxford University reported that children lost their interest in the study by giving regular tests which adversely affect on learning capabilities of youngsters. Apart from this, it is not an only standardised way to assess students skills but also enable the student to know their actual place at a national level. This creating positive competition. On the other hand, there are multiple factors that make conventional exams an outdated choice. In the first,place these tests are prone to increase stress levels in many individuals and affect the annual performance in exams that create a determinantal impact on the mental growth of youngsters. For instance, it has been observed that the suicide rate among youngsters increases during final exams owing to the fear of failure. Moreover, some school-goers are very good at cramming the topics instead of learning the basic concepts. This leads to an incomplete understanding of the topic which creating a hindrance for the overall knowledge of students. To conclude, although evaluating children through final exams is a good way of assessing, yet it's negative aspects in terms of losing precious lives and encouraging the rote methods. Hence this system should be made redundant.