Some people believe that children should not be given homework every day, while others believe that they must get homework every day in order to be successful at school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Homework is a very important part of a child's education because it will help to show their understanding of a particular subject. However, some people believe that giving homework is essential to make a child successful in school, whilst others feel it is not exactly necessary. In this essay, we shall discuss both sides of this coin. Firstly, many schools give children homework because it helps to firmly establish concepts in their minds. On average, schools run for 7 hours, and in this time children are taught various subjects with numerous concepts. Therefore, a child can't get a firm grasp on all the concepts of that lesson in the stipulated period. This is where homework plays an important part because it helps to show childrens' level of understanding. Once the teacher is aware of this, they will know how further to proceed with a particular child. For example, when I was in school, we were given homework during our years, and in addition to this, we were made to present numerous projects, which helped show our understanding of the topic in discussion. On the other hand, people feel that homework makes a child concentrate solely on work and doesn't allow them to develop in any other area. Because of this children tend to be more overstressed in their later years of education, as they become obsessed with getting the perfect grade. For example, it is a known fact that at least 40% of students in Kerala commit suicide because they either feel they going to get a bad grade or they have received a bad grade. In conclusion, I feel the homework is necessary for children, because not only does it show how well the child has understood the lesson, it also helps to firmly cement the concepts into a child's mind.