Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve the growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Some people suggest that the most effective way to rectify traffic and pollution issues is raising the price of gasoline. I totally agree with this idea, and this essay will point out other sensible solutions that can be incorporated with the measure of increasing the cost of gasoline. It is undeniable that air pollution and traffic congestion stem from the heavy car usage as well as using the petrol which made from the fossil fuel that harmful for the environment. Therefore rising petrol price could be considered as one of effective methods to solve these problems. Since it will discourage people from using cars in order to save their money as they think that the price of gasoline is not reasonable. A recent study from the municipality in Toronto shows that when the city increase the price of gasoline, citizens use the car less and the rate of passengers of public transportation are significantly rising as well as the less carbon has been emitted according to the municipality’s tracking. However, there is another effective solution that can ameliorate traffic congestion and pollution by reducing the fares of public transportation to encourage people to use it as a main vehicle to commute. If the fares of public transportation are quite affordable, it will attract numerous people to use this service instead of driving their own car which is the main cause of traffic and pollution issues. One of the clearest examples is Japan where the cost of subway is inexpensive. Hence, their citizens commute by the train as the main transportation. Consequently, Japan is the country who produce the least of carbon footprint in Asia. In conclusion, I will reiterate my stance that I completely agree with the notion of charging more on the gasoline is the most practical solution to solve the issues. Nevertheless, it can be applied with the measure of reducing the cost of public transportation in order to create the sustainable solution for traffic and pollution issues.