In many countries, people have children later in life than in the past. What are the causes of this? Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In view of the fact that a large number of people do not give priority to have a child in their life, this trend has attracted much attention. Multiple factors have driven this transition, and in terms of the security of pregnant women and the long-term social advancement, I believe the problems of this change outweigh its positive impact. In contemporary society, many people have busier careers and lifestyles far than before. Particularly, women have more educational and career opportunities, therefore they do have the choice to master their lives instead of just focusing on their families. Moreover, the expenditure of raising offspring has tremendously increased to the extent that some families could not afford it. These various conditions justify the change that people have children later. It is not a good phenomenon for a country as considering that declining birth rates will harm society advancement. Labour shortages may be the first problem we need to take into consideration. Fewer children now mean fewer teenagers in the future. This demographic change, with an increasing proportion of children, will inevitably cause labour shortages in the not-too-distance future and has a negative effect on social development. Simultaneously, high-aged pregnancy would drive women to be exposed to danger. Some researches show that pregnant women who are older would more likely to suffer from diseases and bear more risks. Admittedly, this choice also enables people to have more time to achieve their career goals and parents could have children when they are prepared financially. I can fully understand why some people delay parenthood, but it’s hard to deny that it will reduce productivity in the long term. In conclusion, as far as the security of pregnant women and the long-term social development are considered, people delay to have children is harmful to older pregnant women and the social productivity, but maybe beneficial for individuals’ careers.