Some people think that zoos are cruel and all the zoos should be closed. However, others think that zoos are useful to protect rare animals. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

For many years, men have captured other species for entertainment purposes and featured them in zoos and circuses. However, recently, this act has been considered as a violation of animal rights. Nevertheless, still enslaving them is believed to be beneficial. In my opinion, most zoos commit animal cruelty and therefore, they should be banned. On the one hand, obviously most animals are separated from their horde and are brought to these facilities. Since they are usually either caged or put in small glass rooms for exhibition means, they wouldn't have any room to roam. Moreover, they are usually malnutritioned due to inaccessibility to high quality food sources provided by the wilderness. Consequently, these animals would be diagnosed with severe physical illnesses as well as mental ones such as depression. For example, most felines tend to get fat in contrast to their natural athletic figure. Thus, we can deduct and observe their mistreatment in these places. On the contrary, it is worth mentioning that specialists and veterinarians are given access to examine and treat animals in these areas. For instance, as a previous considered endangered species, pandas, have been taken in good care of. In spite of being celibate bears, they are encouraged to have more sexual relations. Moreover, after they have given birth, the staff would help them in parenting process. Subsequently, each year, they have gone larger in number and fortunately, after years of hardship, they are no longer considered endangered. Hence, some animal activists still believe that zoos are ultimately advantageous. In conclusion, most zoos cause cruelty towards animals and as a repercussion, most of them would get sick due to inappropriate treatments. Nonetheless, in some cases, they have enabled us to prevent extinctions in some species. However, in my opinion the benefits do not outweigh the demerits.