The best way to help underachieving pupils is to have compulsory after school activities which they must attend. This way they will become more involved in school and their grades will improve. To what extent do you agree?

One of the fundamental truths of a classroom is that there will always be an underachieving child. Whatever their numbers may be one thing is guaranteed they are there in the class. Some believe that the best way to deal with them is to hold compulsory after school activities, which will help them to grade higher. I support this notion, and I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. First and foremost, some children have difficulties understanding lessons being taught, and because of this they grades suffer. However, because of peer pressure and comparisons, they refuse to ask the teachers for assistance. Therefore, it is the teacher's responsibility to identify this and chart out ways in which they can help. Although, after school activities, extend a school day, the purpose of it, is to get the students into an environment where they can be free from classmates, and thereby they will be free to express their difficulties. Once this is ascertained, the teachers can tailor the classes to suit their understanding. However, on the other hand, creating compulsory after school activities will only extend the school operating hours, which many feels will only result in negative output from a child. In addition to this, teenagers may feel inadequate amongst their peers, when they see that their friends get to leave school earlier. In conclusion, as mentioned earlier, I support this notion, mainly because every child has a different learning capacity, and it's the teacher's responsibility to ensure that her lectures reach all her students because after all, they must educate everyone in their classroom.