When designing a building, some people think that the intended use of the building should be taken into account rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that in building designs the main focus usually concentrates on its functionality rather than its exterior. This essay will try to review all the arguments for and against this point of view. On the one hand, excellent modern look of a building could be a major contributor in drawing clients and companies. An elegance and a perfect style sometimes are a great part of reputation for businesses to be located in and for customers to frequent. For example, the most of us when choosing a hotel to book get the first impression by a facade. Likewise, big companies prefer luxury and appealing offices to show their status and prosperity. Besides, a specific location might oblige a construction to be part of architectural idea and not to contradict with a style of surrounding area. Here in Moscow you may easily find such examples when one building spoils the spirit of historical downtown. On the other hand, it is hard to disagree with the fact, that every building is built to perform practical tasks, е.g. selling things, running events, delivering medical services and so on. Without doubt, functionality play a major role in design. For instance, a hospital must ensure easy access of emergency vehicles and even helicopters, provide comfortable and safe staying of visitors and patients. Whereas, office building should offer a wide range of facilities for meetings, catering, hardware infrastructure. To conclude, in my opinion the external appearance cannot be a decisive factor of style of a building, as far as it doesn't fulfil the basic criteria - usability and, as a result, return of investments. Nevertheless, a total disregard for outer layout may also affect its attraction and profits.