Some people think that it is better to build more public parks and sports facilities in new towns rather than shopping malls. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that more parks and sports equipment should be built in cities rather than shopping centres. I completely agree with the idea to have more public gardens and fitness tools as many benefits can be seen on this behaviour. It is said that the more shopping malls a city has, the more economical benefits it will receive. However, too many shopping malls bring a lot of problems. For example, people usually drive to shopping malls which possibly cause traffic congestions nearby. In addition, big plazas usually consume much more electricity and water than parks, easily leading to resources waste problems and doing harm to the environment. Finally, people are more likely to be affected by epidemics including flu from attending indoor activities like visiting shopping centres Conversely, humans can't live without green plantations. First, green trees and grass bring a positive ecosystem as they could take in CO2 we exhale or emitted by our cars and then expel oxygen. Thus, humans can breathe fresh air, doing good to health. Second, urban citizens do need a place and slow down their pace. Modern people tend to suffer more pressure than before, thus sports equipment and leisure facilities should be more accessible to help them relieve. Finally, affected by global warming, the weather is getting higher. Trees in the parks offer big shadows where people could stay to avoid hot sunshine. In conclusion, parks and gardens are beneficial to humans and their living environment while negative influences can be seen on too many shopping malls.