Companies should provide sport and social facilities for local communities. To what extend do you agree?

It is argued that companies should provide sports and social facilities in their local communities. However, I partially disagree with this, and I will substantiate my reasoning in the course of this essay. First and foremost, the ownership of providing the facilities to a community solely rests with the government. That being said, companies can sponsor events and social gatherings as a way of promoting themselves in the community. For example, in Trivandrum, many corporate companies sponsor cricket and football tournaments, whilst during the festive period in December, many play host to different parties, for which they help to promote local musicians, in a sort of win-win situation for everyone involved. Furthermore, there is an argument to be made against this which is that, hosting or promoting events does not necessarily create a lasting impression on both participants and viewers alike, or even help promote a company amongst the locals. Instead, it is a companiy's portfolio is that attracts people to the services that they provide. An example of this would be, for the company Allianz, which is a global insurance provider, which provides insurances for some immense structures such as the Burj Khalifa, in Dubai, the Allianz stadium which is home to Bayern Munich Football Club. Although its value speaks for itself, there are fewer people in Trivandrum, who purchase its insurance policies, as compared to alternate local insurance companies. In conclusion, I feel that it is important for companies to sponsor events, both sports and social events, and not facilities as a way to establish themselves in the community. Furthermore, it must be done to help the community come together, rather than plant themselves in the minds of the citizens.