Large businesses have big budgets for marketing and promotion and, as a result, people gravitate towards buying their products. What problems does this cause? What could be done to encourage people to buy local products?

Major businesses have an immense budget for marketing and promotion of their products which they consider necessary for introducing the product in the market. However, this raises problems, both amongst customers and local businesses. In this essay, we shall look at both sides while also looking into various ways of promoting local products. First and foremost, not every customer requires all the products that are being introduced into the market. Furthermore, the bombardment of adverts of these products instils and inquisitiveness in the minds of the citizens, thereby creating a certain sense of desire from the potential customer. For example, different fast-food chains promoting their products. Although they provide a faster, quicker solution to curing one's hunger, they fail to mention the health problems they can cause, especially for someone who already has pre-existing health issues. Moreover, marketing from larger companies must be limited to a particular number of times an advertisement can be aired. In addition, the free time slots available must be used to air promotions for local products. Exhibitions can be held, showcasing these local products to the community. An example of this can be seen in Trivandrum, where every year exhibitions are promoting local foods, products from different parts of India along with local products in the national stadiums. In conclusion, I feel that although every company has a right to air their product, it needs to be done in a more controlled manner, which reduces the emphasis on unwanted products and instead focuses on the local ones.