Social Media websites have amassed large user bases. Do the advantages of being a part of a social media site outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present, massive amount of people are part of social media platforms communities. Being on these platforms has both benefits and drawbacks. In my opinion, depite the fact that there are risks of cyber dangers, social media sites are very useful and beneficial when use wisely. Firstly, social media is a great source of information especially recents news. When an unexpected situation occurs, the fastest sources to access further details of the event are social media platforms as many people with insights can easily provide the updates on the situation in no time while other forms of mass communication require more time and resources. Secondly, social media is particularly useful fo remote communication. throughout the year of 2020, people across the globe were affected by the COVID-19 pandemic. Students could not attend school and the classes were conducted through online solutions. It is undenieable that platforms that provide virsual visual conferencing service became highly significant for learning processes and communication during the pandemic. From the aforementioned reasons, being a part of certain social media platforms can be beneficial or in some cases, required considered the importance of these platform in people's life. However, there are a few drawbacks from using social media carelessly. There are potential risks of unwanted information exposure which could cause serious trouble for the user. Personal information that users posted can be used by criminals in order to track the user down and do harm to them. Thus, exposing too much personal details can be dangerous as those with bad intemtions could use the information to cause serious harm to the person and people aroud them. To summarize, social media is potentially useful and has become a significant part in most people's life. However, in order to use social media platforms safely, users have to be careful and do not expose too much personal information.