Governments should make people responsible for looking after their own local environment. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Protection of the environment is an indispensable task for everyone. Whilst some people think that authorities should constrain individuals to take care of the nature of their own community, in this essay, I present arguments in support of the notion that people should take responsibility towards the whole environment. On the one hand, maintaining local eco-balance is grave for indigenous people. In many locations, the wealth of inhabitants directly depends on ecological components. Such as soil and water. Thus, to preserve them in good condition and to avoid any kind of contamination is essential not only for health status but also for living conditions. Quality of soil, for instance, can easily deteriorate as a result of extensive usage of chemicals, and consequently, it becomes less prolific after a short period of time. Therefore, everybody engaged in agriculture should shun any activity that may have a harmful effect on the local nature. On the other hand, the protective initiatives of nature should not be confined locally only. Many activities of humans can negatively affect the general environment. For example, driving a car or reckless usage of electricity may contribute to increases in carbon emissions, which certainly imposes threats not only on local nature but also creates perils for the world's ecosystem. Therefore, individuals should think of their community environments as an uninterruptable part of the global system. In conclusion, although governments compel their citizens to bear responsibility for the local natural environment, it is paramount that they have also monitor their activities in concern to the negative impact on the global status of the environment.