In some countries, imported food is increasingly popular. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In view of that increased tendency in popularity of imported food in some countries, the impacts raised by this are subject to much debate. As far as the local job opportunities and food safety are concerned, I believe that the problem of this trend far outweighs its positive impact. To begin with, the food safety of imported food is hard to guarantee. A large number of chemical materials could be added to various foods, preventing them from rotting in long-distance transportation. If we do not clean these imported fruits, vegetables and so forth thoroughly, the residue of harmful chemicals will have an adverse impact on customers’ health. For instance, it is common for some foreign exporters to use preservatives to ensure the freshness of meat, while preservatives are usually deemed as noxious chemicals. Simultaneously, this trend would take jobs away from local farmers. The large proportion of imported food means that we do not need so many local foods anymore, and it would pose a threat to the local agricultural economy. In the long term, considering the decreased need for local food, it can be forecasted that the opportunities for local farm jobs would decline. Admittedly, I am not saying that imported foods are good for nothing. Various foreign foods can provide consumers with more choices, creating a market with diverse foods. Meanwhile, the competition between local food producers and foreign food producers could lead to lower food prices and better food quality. Food producers have to focus on higher quality to avoid being sifted out in the competition. In conclusion, considering the food safety and local agricultural economy, I maintain the view that the popularity of imported foods would have an opposite impact, while the variety and quality would improve at the same time.