Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bar. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that crimes can be committed in different circumstances and have different social consequences. So the logical question arises. Should all lawlessness be punishable by imprisonment? My opinion is that the answer is no and I will try to briefly explain my point of view. The Criminal Code divides misdemeanours into several categories, depending on their severity. When we talk about serious crimes such as murder, kidnapping or terrorism, such criminals are certainly dangerous to others and should be isolated in places of detention. But they are in the minority, most misdemeanours do not entail serious moral, physical or material damage to society. Everyone can stumble and make a mistake in their life but it doesn't have to end up in prison. Everyone deserves a second chance, and unpaid community work is exactly the kind of punishment that will allow the convicted person to realize his guilt and not become bitter toward the justice system. Also, the benefits of corrections are that the state does not spend budgetary money on keeping prisoners. On the contrary, money is saved and socially useful work is done at the same time. But being behind bars can only embitter the prisoners, break them morally, which may eventually lead to the fact that on release he will return to crime. in summary, I want to say that the punishment should fit the crime. In a civilized society, justice must serve the purpose of correcting the convicted. A criminal record should not become a stigma for the rest of your life and alternative sentencing is a great way to fix that.