Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for you answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experience.

A recent survey shows that 50% of the population prefer the same choice of outfits. Certain people believe that a person's culture and character can be completely judged based on their dressing sense. I disagree with this statement. This essay shall examine it in detail. To begin with, in recent times most people wear clothes that are very identical. For example, most of the schools and colleges in India instruct their students to wear uniforms. So we cannot identify an individual's traditions based on their clothing style. Next, the character of a human cannot be proven good based on the way they dress. For instance, when I met with an accident a few years back most well-dressed public hesitated to offer help, but a cab driver saved my life by taking me to the hospital. The personality and culture of an individual can be interpreted by the way one reacts to a certain situation. We cannot hide our bad nature behind our clothes. On the other hand, we can hardly evaluate somebody's values and character based on their dress. It influences the results up to a certain extent only. For instance, only some things can be defined based on how well one presents themselves. Firstly, only a few basic qualities about someone can be understood with which a lot can be improvised about them. Secondly, by doing so most of the time people tend to understand a person in a wrong manner. Even though the first impression is important it does not have to be completely true. To summarize, evaluating a person's nature based on the way they dress does not give a lot of information, but just a common understanding about them which may or may not be true.