Governments should spend more money on education than on recreation and sport. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a controversial perspective leading to a heated debate on how the government is spending tax payer's money. Some people believe that, this money should be directed towards education rather than sporting activities while I argue, that both studies and sports play a vital role in the development of the country. Firstly, sports and recreational activities are a source of income for a large number of people. Disinvestment in these will lead to massive unemployment which can cause distress in the minds of many people. For example - there are a number of athletes who are aided by the government agencies to train and develop motor skills in many children and, if these sportspersons are not supported, it can create disharmony in certain segments of the society. As a result, sports and games should be supported for a better future of sports. Therefore, games play a significant role in improving the economic and social status of any country. Secondly, sports are being played by all sections of society especially by the weaker sections. Non-funding of recreational sports and activities may increase income disparity between the upper class and the lower sections of the society. For instance - children from the poor sections of society who are passionate about any particular sport may not be able to pursue a career in it if the government does not support them wholeheartedly. Consequently, these children may have to opt-in for meagre jobs which may not help them in improving their standard of living. To conclude, education and games are integral parts of a progressive nation and both are subject to sufficient funding. Many sports persons would have not achieved great heights, have the government not supported them at the right time.