Some governments spend a lot of public money training individuals to be successful in international sporting events. Some people believe that this money should be spent on things that will benefit the general public instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In our diverse world, there are different types of Governments, some pay more heed towards welfare of their citizens by internal growth whereas some give importance to building Image of themselves globally as a strong nation through participating in international sporting events. It's all about their leaders vision and their people's priorities, so the ones who want internal growth spend money in developing infrastructure of the country or improving their healthcare and education system, usually these are the under-developed or developing nations. on the other hand are the developed nations who have peaked in other internal matters and are in the race for being global leader. I think a country should first improve it's internal matters such as healthcare, education, etc. before venturing into international sporting events competing with the developed nations but if they do this they have an opportunity loss of not training someone who is naturally gifted and can excel for them in a sport on international sporting level. If people of the country are internally stable and satisfied first there will not be any opponents who question about government spending on sports. India for instance is a developing country who is far more populated and economically weak than the other developed nations but wants to compete in the Olympics for which they have to heavily invest public money in training and they are criticized by the opposition, questioning their funding on sports when half the nation is below poverty line and have not been fed a proper meal. Hence, its better to spend public money for the benefit of general public first.