In many countries, paying for things using mobile phone apps is becoming increasingly common. Does this development have more advantages or more disadvantages?

With the advancement in technology, the usage of mobile applications for the payment of online transactions has been escalating. Although there are pros and cons of this development, I believe that it is a very positive trend. To begin with, Online payment provides convenience in terms of daily transactions. Firstly, the payment can be made instantly without being physically present at that place. Gone are the days when people had to wait in the long queues for the payment of utility bills. Now, with specific mobile apps, these bills can be paid within seconds from the comfort of one's home such as Alfalah Alpha or HBL Konnect. Secondly, carrying a large number of currency notes is a big risk in underdeveloped countries. The burglars and pockets pickers can steal the cash easily provided the worst law and order situation in countries like Pakistan, India, Afghanistan. Undoubtedly, online payment methods have provided security in terms of keeping the money and performing online transactions. Thus, technology has provided ease to the masses. Nevertheless, there is a drawback to using mobile apps for the exchange of money. With a little knowledge of hacking, online scammers can easily extract all the information of a person using his social media account details and, then, use that information to hack into the bank details of a person. After this, the hackers can withdraw the money from that person's account. For example, In recent years, a number of such scams have been recorded by law enforcement agencies and many countries have to come up with cybercrime bills to protect their citizens from online criminals and various kinds of fraud. Hence, one has to be careful in sharing the information on social media platforms; otherwise, the breach of the data can happen quickly. To conclude, even though the risk of losing capital is involved in mobile apps payment, the positives of using this method are much more in comparison to its negatives. In the future, the payment method would be entirely online due to cryptocurrencies like bitcoin.